Nalini Devi Women's College of Teacher Education

College At A Glance

nalini devi teacher education

Nalini Devi women’s College of Teacher Education, Bhubaneswar

Nalini Devi Women’s College of Teacher Education, Bhubaneswar located in the heart of capital was established with a noble vision to extend the facility of Teacher Education to women candidates seeking to pursue B.Ed. and M.Ed. programmes. This college was named after Late Nalini Devi Routray, one of the pioneering social workers of Odisha and renowned personality of Odia literature. She is also the wife of late Sj. Nilamani Routray, the former Chief Minister of Odisha.

The college (formerly known as Nalini Devi Women’s College) came into existence on 7th of November 1980 under a private management body. It was taken over by the Govt. of Odisha on 27th of June, 1991 by virtue of ordinance Notice No.03, dt. 26 June1991 and subsequently upgraded to the status of “College of Teacher Education” vide G.O. XII/SME (Trg) 3/93 No. 3753/SME dated 14 November 1993 and renamed as Nalini Devi Women’s College of Teacher Education in pursuance of the Government Notification Number XII-SME (Trg.) 10/96-10979/SME dated 05 April1995. Since then, the college, the only Government Women’s College of Teacher Education in the state of Odisha, has come a long way earning reputation for its pioneering work in the field of teacher education.

The college was under the administrative control of the School and Mass Education Department till May 2021 before coming under the fold of the Higher Education Department w.e.f. 01 June 2021. Recognized by the NCTE, New Delhi for intake capacity for 150 B.Ed. and 50 M.Ed. seats and affiliated to the Utkal University, Vani Vihar, this post-graduate college offers two-year B.Ed. and M.Ed. programmes armed with our best faculty members and non-academic supporting staff members. This apart, the college is also in the process of dissemination of new pedagogic ideas and skills to the secondary and higher secondary schools for qualitative improvement of education through research and innovation, extension and community outreach, documentation and publication, and in-service education.